Wednesday, September 23, 2009

Isa ako sa mga Finalists sa Premio Tomas Arejola Para sa Literaturang Bikolnon

Finalists for 6th Premio Tomas Arejola named

Two stories for children, three essays, four short stories, one 1-act play and eleven collections of poetry are in contention for top honors in the 6 th Premio Tomas Arejola para sa Literaturang Bikolnon.

This was announced by Carlos Arejola, chairman of the Bicol-wide literary competition widely regarded in the literary circle as the region's premiere literary prize.

Cited in the stories for children are: “Kun Tanu Maharang an Lada” by Owen del Castillo of Pilar, Sorsogon and “A-HU-HO, A-HE-HE (o an Kolor kan Buhay ni Koroy Sa Apat na Osipon) by Estelito Jacob of Camaligan, Camarines Sur.

The finalists for the essay category are: “Pagiromdum” by Eden Enano-Estopace of P. Ocampo St. , Manila , “Buhay Riles” by Eilyn L. Nidea Parocha of Ragay, Camarines Sur and “Seminarista” by Owen del Castillo.

The eleven collections of poetry cited this year are: “Parokyano kan Tinampo” by Jerome M. Hipolito of Calabanga, Camarines Sur; “Insomya” by Owen del Castillo of Pilar, Sorsogon; “Sa Lugar na Dinakulaan” by Alex Michael S. Boribor of Pioduran, Albay; “Muklat” by Rodel Delera Añosa of Aroroy, Masbate; “Pisaran asin Iba pang mga Rawitdawit” by Leopoldo C. Brizuela, Jr. of Ligao City; “An mga Para-lagaylay asin pang mga Rawitdawit” by Irvin Parco Sto Tomas of Canaman, Camarines Sur; “Sa hubasan, nagprobar akong magsurat” by Eduardo Endraca Uy, Jr. of Gubat, Sorsogon; “Naglakaw ako” by Welbert Cipria of Tabaco City; “Apat na Tigsik sa Tabaco Buda Iba Pang mga Rawitdawit” by Richard Madrilejos of Tabaco City ; “Paglabto sa Pagtubod” by Honesto M. Pesimo, Jr. of Naga City ; and “Hamot kan Narumdon” by Jaime Jesus U. Borlagdan of Tabaco City .

Cited in the short story category are: “Ligñon Hill” by Rodel Delera Añosa of Aroroy, Masbate; “Kaldero-Kawali, Buhay an Nahale” by Alex Michael S. Boribor of Pioduran, Albay; “Dolores” by Owen del Castillo of Pilar, Sorsogon; and “Pagsarado” by Jaime Jesus U. Borlagdan of Tabaco City .

Only one 1-act play, “Sa Minundagan Sana: Pasirip sa Que Lugar Este kan Dayo ni Jimple” by Richard Madrilejos of Tabaco City , is cited by the Premio Arejola this year.

The said literary works will be honored on September 29, this year at the Conference Hall of the Avenue Square in Naga City at an awards rite which shall also honor the first recipients of the Bikolinismo Outstanding Bikolano Artists search.

The best entries, to be named in the said event, will receive P5,000 and the PTALB medallion. The grand prize shall then be chosen from among the category winners and shall be conferred the title Writer of the Year, and receive P10,000 and the Naga City Jaycees Parasurat kan Taon trophy. The cash prize and trophy is courtesy of the Naga City currently headed by Mark Enrile.

Also to be honored are the finalists of the Rawitdawit para ki Ina, a special poetry category for elementary and high school students, namely: “Pagkamoot kan Sarong Ina” by Sean Marben P. Guinoo and “Pagtubod. Pagkamoot. Pag-omaw” by Grechil Angela L. Ayen, both of St. Louise de Marillac School of Pili; “Bulos kan Pagtubod” by Ailyn B. Caringal and “Pag-omaw ki Ina” by Flerida Ann G. Deniega, both of Ragay National Agricultural & Fisheries School; “Peñafrancia Fiesta” by Kimberly Anne F. Tolop, “An Ika-Tersentenaryong Milagro kan Inang Peñafrancia” by Khim Joseph R. Naval, and “Nuestra Señora de Peñafrancia an Pangaran Niya” by John Paul A. Bacsain, all of Pili National High School.

First handed out last year, the winner of the Rawitdawit para ki Ina category receives cash and prizes worth 3,000 and a medallion designed by Marianne Olaño of Baycrafts, a Naga-based outfit and trademark.

The two other major prizes to be handed out are the Premio Bibiano Sabino para sa Librong Bikolnon and the PTALB Lifetime Achievement Award.

No comments:

Post a Comment